ATom Related GEOS-Chem Projects

From Geos-chem
Jump to: navigation, search

About ATom

  • ATom (Atmospheric Tomography) is a NASA airborne project focused on characterizing the composition of the global atmosphere. The project consists of 4 global transects (down the Pacific and up the Atlantic), one in each season which took place from 2016-2018. There is tremendous interest in using the ATom dataset to explore questions of interest to the GEOS-Chem community. The goal of this webpage is to enable communication across the GEOS-Chem community about these projects.
  • Observations from the first two ATom flights (ATom-1 and ATom-2) are publicly available on the ESPO archive. All the data is accessible to members of the ATom Science Team (Lee Murray, Eloise Marais, Colette Heald) and their groups. Please communicate with the measurement teams if you are using the ATom observations, as many of the data is preliminary and may change.

ATom-Related GEOS-Chem Projects

Name Institution Email Model Version Focus Date Added
Sidhant Pai MIT sidhantp [at] mit [dot] edu v11-02c Organic aerosol (as part of a larger airborne-data evaluation of OA) April 25, 2018


Katie Travis MIT ktravis [at] mit [dot] edu v11-02c CO, including primary emissions and secondary sources from VOCs; organic aerosol aging April 25, 2018
Lee Murray University of Rochester lee.murray [at] rochester [dot] edu v11-01, v11-02f Evaluating background HOx and NOy budgets April 25, 2018
Eloise Marais University of Birmingham E.A.Marais [at] bham [dot] ac [dot] uk v10-01 Anthropogenic emissions from Africa; IEPOX SOA April 25, 2018
Tomas Sherwen University of York tomas.sherwen [at] york [dot] ac [dot] uk v10-01, v11-02e Evaluation of reactive halogen in the model April 25, 2018
Peter Ivatt University of York peter.ivatt [at] york [dot] ac [dot] uk v11-01 Evaluation of ozone distribution as wider ozone evaluation April 25, 2018
Ryan Pound University of York tomas.sherwen [at] york [dot] ac [dot] uk v11-01 Evaluation of ozone dry deposition to ocean April 25, 2018
Kelvin Bates Harvard University kelvin_bates [at] fas [dot] harvard [dot] edu v11-02 Remote budgets of small organics (MeOH, HCHO, CH3CHO, acetone...) April 26, 2018
Xuan Wang Harvard University wangx [at] seas [dot] harvard [dot] edu v11-02d Aerosols and HNO3 April 26, 2018
Andy Jacobson NOAA ESRL andy.jacobson [at] noaa [dot] gov various (4 inverse modeling groups) CO2 in OCO-2 mip; see https://www.esrl.noaa.gov/gmd/ccgg/carbontracker/OCO2_insitu/campaigns.php April 26, 2018
Jenny Fisher U. Wollongong jennyf [at] uow [dot] edu [dot] au SEAC4RS v9-02 with modifications Development and evaluation of C1-C3 alkyl nitrates simulation April 27, 2018
Jenny Fisher U. Wollongong jennyf [at] uow [dot] edu [dot] au v11-02 Evaluation of pRONO2 simulation April 27, 2018
Jack Kodros / Jeff Pierce Colorado State jeffrey.pierce [at] colostate [dot] edu v10.01 w/ TOMAS Aerosol size distributions April 26, 2018
Xuesong Zhang University of Toronto xuesong.zhang [at] mail [dot] utoronto [dot] ca Adjoint model V35 Evaluation of assimilated CO, O3, NO2, CH2O and OH April 26, 2018
Millet lab University of Minnesota dbm [at] umn [dot] edu Modified v10 HCOOH April 30, 2018
Chris Holmes Florida State University cdholmes [at] fsu [dot] edu v11-01 Photolysis rates, oxidant budgets April 30, 2018
Hannah Nesser Harvard University hnesser [at] g [dot] harvard [dot] edu v11-02d_CH4 Methane May 21, 2018



--Colette Heald 22:14, 25 April 2018 (UTC)